Khador Butcher of Khardov…

Ahhh I love this model! It was a sonnaofabitch to put him together though. Nothing a little pinning, epoxy, and superglue can’t accomplish though. I think he turned out really well for such a basic paint job due to the model having minimal smaller details so the black wash goes into all the cracks over him pretty nice and solid.

  1. White P3 Primer
  2. Base coat colors using Vallejo Game Colors
  3. Used Citadel Badab Black wash all over the miniature
  4. Minimal highlights (studs, rivets, flesh, etc.)
  5. The splatter gore effect was accomplished using 1 part Vallejo Rojo Visceral Gory Red and 3-4 parts Citadel Devlan Mud Wash. I then loaded up a size 3 flat brush and flicked it onto the axe
  6. Bases are comprised of Woodland Scenics grass & rocks. I also use Skullcrafts Autumn Mix Leaf Scatter
  7. Finally I use Army Painter Anti-Shine Matte Varnish & Vallejo Gloss Varnish only on his mouth and bloody Lola Axe

You probably noticed I didn’t paint the eyes. I don’t like painting them and it usually makes the model looks like he’s on drugs unless properly done. I opted to keep it dark and moody and let your own imagination fill his pupils ;p

Again a special shout out goes to PG_Wargame_junkie from the Privateer Press Forums for giving me the info on how to make a proper gore mix. I streamlined his recipe a bit to make it easier and less time consuming for myself though ;p

Leave a Reply

