Battle Report 048-052 > Journeyman League – Month 1…

The day of reckoning has arrived at our LGS and the our Journeyman league had a awesome turn out! I was able to get in 5 games, so here’s some brief battle reports of the games. Again, brought my camera but totally forgot to take pics. Bad me.

My list…

  • Bloody Barnabas (+6)
  • Blackhide Wrastler – 9pts
  • Ironback Spitter – 8pts

ROUND 1 – BLINDWATER vs MERCENARIES

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Realising the power of the Ironback Spitter’s AOE corrosive spit
  • Blackhide Wrastler double-hand throwing a warjack into a swamp pit extinguishing it’s furnace

IN SUMMARY…WIN!
Oh Swamp Pits…how I love thee. It’s always nice to see the reaction of an opponent’s face when they realize it completely shuts down their ranged combat. Naughty me. The mistake I feel my opponent made was being to passive and using a forest for cover when he had 2 jacks that had reach and could have easily alpha striked me pretty hard. I ended up using Barnabas’ feat and following up with a couple swamp pits to hopefully throw a warjack into it while dishing out normal attacks on the other while it was knocked down. Luckily the throw didn’t deviate outside of the Swamp Pit. It’s moments like this that show me how cool WarmaHordes is with it’s Power Attack options. I love it!

ROUND 2 – BLINDWATER vs KHADOR

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Getting the alpha strike on both his jacks and crippling almost all their systems
  • My opponent going balls out and putting the game on the line with Butcher1 charging Barnabas

IN SUMMARY…LOSS!
Alright so this one is totally all my fault. I wasn’t happy enough with crippling all of his warjack’s systems and got greedy. I charged in with Barnabas and was hoping to box one of the warjacks but couldn’t. I also casted the wrong spell on myself. I should have casted Iron Flesh but instead casted the Ornery Animus. Why? I have no idea LOL. So my opponent moved his jack out of the way and bet the house on Butcher1’s charge. He made it and proceeded to make himself some crocodile skin boots with Lola. I should have just sat back with my caster since his warjacks were in pretty bad shape and just finished them off next round. If I would have killed off that warjack he would’ve created a patch of rough terrain in the charge lane of the Butcher1 and would not have been able to reach me. Oh wells…Live and learn! PATIENCE GRASSHOPPER!

ROUND 3 – BLINDWATER vs CRYX

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Goreshade1’s feat…nuff said

IN SUMMARY…LOSS!
This was a tough one. I knew the unit of Bane Thralls would be coming…BUT WHEN!? Surprisingly I survived them and was able to counter and kill most of them off. Alas it was still not enough and he was able to eventually kill all my beasts. Game over maaaan! There wasn’t too much I could do here since there was a unit of 6 weapons masters around to tie up and distract my 3 models lol. I will get my revenge at the 25 point level, THIS I SWEAR!!!

ROUND 4 – BLINDWATER vs EVERBLIGHT

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Ironback Spitter sniping his Shredder
  • Baranbas counter-charging a assassination attempt by the Raek
  • Both my heavies immediately dispatching the revived Scythean under Thagrosh1’s feat

IN SUMMARY…WIN!
This was my first Hordes match of the day…finally. My opponent had his beasts come in at different times so I able to deal with them more easily than if they all hit together. I tend to forget Barnabas has counter-charge but I remembered this time and it was pretty awesome. You really don’t see too many Warlocks/Warcasters with that ability and I’m only used to it with my Khador Wardog. Overall I was able to fight everything 2 vs 1 since I kept all my models pretty close to each other. Later on I found out that Thagrosh1 can’t revive models that are “Removed From Play”. I’m not used to having models that offer a ability that triggers that so I learned something new. YAY!

ROUND 5 – BLINDWATER vs CRYX

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • My opponent was under points..meh

IN SUMMARY…WIN!
My 2nd match against a different Cryx player. My opponent purposely went under points in order to be able to run a unit in the 15 point phase of the Journeyman League so he was underpowered a bit. I pretty much knocked down everything I could using Barnabas feat and dealt with his Stalker early on. It was a clean victory, nothing too fancy here. On a side note, this opponent has a knack for rolling horribad when it counts the most. It was to the point where I offered him to roll my dice instead lol.

Overall I was happy with my performance for being new to the Hordes Fury mechanic as well as a new army that plays very different from Khador. I had a blast learning to use my Gators! I went 3-2 so…

Journeyman League Gaming Points: 13
Leave a Reply

