REVIEW – Lock and Load 2012…

I finally got some time to write up my thoughts about this past weekend at Lock and Load 2012. First off, I had so much fun at this convention. Definitely one of the better if not THE best for me personally. This is however my first convention I have attended outside of California so bear that in mind.

FRIDAY – So me and a friend decided to fly in a day early so we wouldn’t have to rush from the airport to the LnL, but seeing how easy it was for people who pre-registered I know now that it’s a non-issue. We basically walked up, showed them our badge and they gave us a lanyard…DONE. Everything was in a main room except for the 2 classrooms and the store which were in their own rooms. We walked around the main room taking in their amazing diorama as you could see in my Lock and Load photo dump and checked out all their scenario/scenic tables, which by the way all looked pretty amazing in person. We both spent a nice amount of time talking to Meg and Matt about painting techniques and what not since my PIC (Partner in Crime) was entering some models into multiple categories. Check in for the hotel was 3pm (15:00) which I thought was really odd so we decided to just walk around and absorb the vibe and check out the store. I saw various things I was going to buy but decided to wait until later when we actually got our room. Bad idea. The Iron Arena quickly started to fill up and soon people from all over the globe were challenging anyone who looked like they were looking for a game. The way Iron Arena works is really cool! So you basically earn skulls/cards for every game you play and depending on which requirements you met the total number was variable. It encouraged people to play different point level games at least once and REALLY encouraged people to play strangers from out of state/country and team games. After getting in a couple games and attending some classes we decided to check out Seattle’s famous Public/Fish Market and treated ourselves to some amazing seafood at the Steelhead Diner. Unfortunately when we got back we totally spaced about the Friday night Privateer Press panel…LOL. Luckily the Lost Hemisphere crew recorded the whole thing. Fail on our part.

SATURDAY – I wasn’t sure if I was going to play in the Hardcore Tournament since I didn’t finish painting the units I wanted to use, but my friend talked me into it. I am very glad I did end up playing and did much better than I thought I would do. The Khador list I was running had ZERO Winterguard or Kayazy and I ended up using 1 unit of Doom Reavers only. I went ‘Jack heavy and threw in the Gun Carriage for good measure. I ended going 2-2 but most likely could have won my 1st game if I actually read my opponents caster card. Fail on my part. Great experience none the less! One of my opponents actually gave me a little trophy which I though was super awesome for defeating him. Another one of my opponents was from the Chain Attack crew and I attempted a 2 turn assassination mission that didn’t end up well thanks to his Gorman. The rest of the day I spent shopping (but Vlad3 was already sold out), attending several classes, and playing some casual Iron Arena games. In the evening I met up with a local friend and had some fantastic fresh oysters and then ate at a place called the Honey Hole which had amazing sandwiches and the best vegetarian chili I have ever tasted. I totally missed out on Iron Painter which my friend qualified for 1 of the 4 finalist spots. Word on the street was some of the challenges included were having to paint standing on 1 leg, using only fingers, and even paint with their eyes closed. I failed again! Anyways, later on in the night I met with some new friends for some drinks and we all chatted nerd stuff and then I played a Iron Arena casual game to end the night off. My opponent was a teenager from Eindhoven in the Netherlands which was cool and ironic since I lived over there for almost 2 years. His face was priceless when I started speaking a little Dutch to him. Echt mooi!

SUNDAY – I ended up doing some Ninja shopping for friends and there was a early line for the limited release of the Trollblood Mountain King. I didn’t end up picking that up but the model in person looks amazing. Truly one of the best looking Colossal/Gargantuan models around period. I wanted to play enough Iron Arena games to get their cool widget and ended up having some tickets left over so I got a measuring tape as well since mine broke. My friend that entered into the painting competition (his first time ever entering in one) did pretty awesome and placed in all 3 categories he entered getting a Bronze in Unit, Silver in Large model, and Gold in single miniature. Congrats Anthony Wang! PP for the closing ceremony handed out all the awards for their different tournaments and did a raffle for some pretty awesome swag. I didn’t win anything but an ally in a earlier team game was telling us how she needed a new bag and then she won a Battefoam Warmachine bag in the raffle drawing so I was happy for her! DESTINY!

All in all it was a pretty amazing experience and I definitely look forward to next year if time and money permits it. They announced they will be taking over 2 floors since this year’s Lock and Load sold out fairly fast. I would like to thank all my opponents in Hardcore as well as the Iron Arena for the battles with all of my opponents ranging from the USA, Canada, Netherlands, & Singapore. We never got our game in Sam! Maybe next year šŸ™‚

The Privateer Press staff and Press Ganger’s all did a wonderful job with everything and I thank them for their efforts. I know how hard it is to handle a event from personal experience…especially with all the different tournaments, classes, etc. going on.

One last thing…what does a Repo man, Music Producer, and a Nintendo consultant have in common? F*CKING WARMAHORDES! It really is AMAZING how many different walks of life this game brings in. Truly. Nuff said!

9 thoughts on “REVIEW – Lock and Load 2012…

      • Dunno about that… I’m in Australia! And your writing style is just fine to read, I should know… I’m a teacher. šŸ™‚ (another different walk of lifer)

      • Go the WEST COAST! I’m in WA, and yeah, the Warmachine Scene is hotting up over here. Unfortunately, I’m 5 hours out of Perth in a large regional city; Geraldton. The good news is it’s heating up here as well, we’re currently running a Journeyman League that is going really well. I’m seriously considering downsizing my 40kays to get more ‘Machine…

      • That’s great then! Our Journeyman league got me to paint my ass off so it was totally enjoyable. As far as 40K goes…I’m a ex-40Ker so I feel you. It’s kind of hard to enjoy other games when the balance is so fleshed out for WM.

  1. very cool write up! glad you liked the lil trophy for a keep sake for killing me hahaha. hope to see u next year!

    • thanks brother! was a pleasure gaming & chatting with you. hopefully I can make it out again next year! thanks again for the super cool mini-trophy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

