Battle Report 122-125 > 15-50pts. Escalation Steamroller Tournament…

It’s been awhile since I have posted a battle report and I really have no idea how many games I have played since the last post, so yeaaa. A new store opened up in Costa Mesa called Mercenary Market which is owned by Chris Kluwe. He is the punter for the American football team the Minnesota Vikings and apparently a avid gamer of all sorts from Video Games to RPG’s to tabletop wargames (I know right?!). They were hosting a interesting format in which all the players (Lieutenants) would be split into 2 teams lead by a General, one being Chris Kluwe and the other being none other than Matt Wilson of Privateer Press! Now the Generals for each tournament round could offer each of their players (Lieutenants) a free boost, re-roll, and a auto command pass check. This made the format SUPERFUN at those critical moments! There would be a final game between Chris and Matt with the best player from each side acting as a personal advisor to their General for their 50 point EPIC BATTLE!

Chris Kluwe, Matt Wilson, & John DeShazer (Organizer)

  • Standard Steam Roller Scenarios (No Flanking Scenarios)
  • Escalation Variant – You only have to stay within Faction (You could change your list every round)
  • Deathclock
  • 4 Rounds
  • Round One – The lieutenants of the generals are scouting out the battlefield in anticipation of the wars to come. These battles are small skirmishes of 15 points and only include battle groups. *Warcaster attachments are not part of battle groups.
    The bonus rewarded to the General’s team for winning round one is an additional +2 inch deployment zone.
  • Round Two – The lieutenants are starting to claim valuable positions on the battlefield. This round the lieutenants have 25 points to spend on their armies.The bonus rewarded to the General’s team for winning round 2 is an additional +1 on the to go first roll for every point they beat the other General by. Points are calculated as wins of his lieutenants.
  • Round Three – The lieutenants have bolstered their forces to 35 points. The key battlefield locations are being fought over!
    The bonus rewarded to the General’s team for winning round 3 allows them to deploy a wall anywhere in 20 inches of his deployment side.
  • Round Four – The lieutenants have amassed their full forces of 50 points and are battling it out in full scale war!

Game on MOFOS!

ROUND 1 > 15 Points – KHADOR vs KHADOR

#2 Gauntlet (Center Scenario)

  • Harkevich
  • Behemoth
  • Juggernaut

VERSUS

  • Sorscha1
  • Behemoth
  • Juggernaut

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Opponent’s Behemoth wrecking BOTH my warjacks
  • Harkevich living Page 5

This game was pretty back and forth and it came down to 1 roll, but then again doesn’t it always? I was only able to wreck his Juggernaut and I saw a opening for Harkevich to go after Sorscha but I would have to survive a freestrike from Behemoth. I advanced out of melee and took 7 damage…not too bad. I proceeded to take a handcannon shot boosting to hit and damage of course, but she survived with 1 box left! I had 3 focus left so I did the only thing I could do…cast Razorwind LOL! I got the boosted hit and at dice -3 I was able to assassinate her. If Harkevich would’ve failed I’m pretty sure a fully loaded Sorscha would’ve been able to take me out i.e. Freezing Grip, Charge, and Doneskies. We got into a little debate earlier about charging but I didn’t feel like arguing since the Deathclock was very short and could only be paused by a judge. He was confused about “toward” versus “directly toward”. It was still a pretty fun game!

WIN by assassination!!!

ROUND 2 > 25 Points – KHADOR vs KHADOR

#7 Incursion (Dual Scenario)

  • Zevanna Agha, Old Witch & Scrapjack
  • Behemoth
  • Kayazy Asassins (Max Unit) w/UA Underboss
  • Kayazy Elminators
  • Gorman DiWulfe

VERSUS

  • Sorscha2
  • Conquest
  • War Dog
  • Kayazy Elminators
  • Man-o-War Shocktroopers (Min. Unit)
  • Gorman DiWulfe?

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Conquest loving that Warjack Bond
  • Opponent’s War Dog biting a lot of asses
  • Eliminators being awesome as usual
  • Neither of us used our FEATS lol

This was something I was planning on running in the future but not at this point level. Sorscha2’s warjack bond with Conquest is just too sexy. If your opponent can’t destroy it in 1 turn then everything within 2″ of it not immune to cold becomes Stationary. So very awesome indeed since the Conquest does have the most boxes out of all the Colossals. This is hands down my favorite scenario since it’s so dynamic and the way you deploy your army is sooooo key! I feared if the center flag didn’t disappear that the Conquest would just sit between the 2 closer flags and contest both. I knew from playing against Colossals in other games I should focus on the scenario and possible try to get a assassination with my Kayazy party patrol. I basically AOE killed his Eliminators with Behemoth, kept his Conquest busy with a steady diet of assassins, bogged his Man-o-Wars with assassins, and ran my Eliminators to engage Sorscha. Doing this combination made it possible for me to score 3 points on 1 flag to win by scenario. I let my opponent know afterwards that he should’ve trampled his Conquest to sit between the 2 flags and then I would have had to dealt with it instead of ignoring it and keeping it busy. It was his first tournament so I advised him that sometimes it’s just better to focus on the scenario and keep things tied up.

WIN by scenario!!!

ROUND 3 > 35 Points – KHADOR vs MERCENARIES

#14 Incoming (Objective Scenario)

  • Zevanna Agha, Old Witch & Scrapjack
  • Behemoth
  • Gun Carriage
  • Kayazy Asassins (Max Unit) w/UA Underboss
  • Kayazy Elminators
  • Gorman DiWulfe

VERSUS

  • Captain Phinneus Shae (Tier 4)
  • Heavy Warjack
  • Vanguard x 2
  • Sea Dog Crew w/UA Mr.Walls
  • Press Gangers
  • Commodore Cannon & Crew
  • Bosun Grogspar
  • Creb “Doc” Killingsworth
  • First Mate Hawk
  • Lord Joln Rockbottom

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Mercs being Mercs with all their crazy stacked Synergies
  • Opponent quickly destroying my objective with extreme prejudice
  • Old Witch using Avatar of Slaughter & claiming 5 souls for herself
  • First Mate Hawk + Storm Rager=Sexy Hot Death

This was the first time I have every played this scenario and I don’t like it. This it too friendly to those “sit back” kind of armies. I’ve read/heard many other complain about this scenario as well. Anyways I made a slew of mistakes including forgetting to cast my FEAT 2 turns in a row LOL. My opponent even told me after the 1st time “Why didn’t you cast your FEAT?!”. I will blame it on my after lunch coma coupled with only getting 3 hours of sleep…yes that’s it! I even setup a turn with my assassins in many of the back arcs of his models ready for the FEAT so they wouldn’t be able to turn around to attack and then I totally forgot. That cost me the game and my opponent’s First Mate Hawk charged and killed the Old Witch. On a side note I think I could have been able to get a Free Strike with Scrapjack since he had Reach but I forgot that also. Hey this is my 1st time ever using her OK! None the less…ROOKIE moves.

LOSS by assassination!!!

ROUND 4 > 50 Points – KHADOR vs CYGNAR

#14 Incoming (Objective Scenario)

  • Zevanna Agha, Old Witch & Scrapjack
  • Behemoth
  • Juggernaut
  • Gun Carriage
  • Battle Mechaniks
  • Kayazy Asassins (Max Unit) w/UA Underboss
  • Kayazy Elminators
  • Gorman DiWulfe
  • Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
  • Lady Aiyanna & Master Holt

VERSUS

  • Captain E. Dominic Darius & Halfjacks
  • Stormwall
  • Centurion
  • Squire
  • Arcane Tempest Gun Mages w/UA
  • Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team
  • Stormsmith Stormcaller x 3
  • Arlan Strangewayes
  • Journeyman Warcaster
  • Lady Aiyanna & Master Holt
  • Reinholdt

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE BATTLE

  • Stormwall helping to pull off Triangulate
  • Gorman DiWulfe surviving a Lighting Pod
  • Behemoth ALMOST surviving a full Stormwall onslaught
  • Me hating Darius’ Jackhammer spell
  • Opponent’s killing off his own models to kill of my Behemoth
  • Forgetting to pop my FEAT…AGAIN!?!?!?!

Another player popping my Warcaster cherry! I have never played Darius but I know he can repair Warjacks completely so I wasn’t sure if I was really going to focus too much on the Stormwall. I made many mistakes. Many many mistakes. Behemoth didn’t even get to attack in melee at all. I forgot to move my Gun Carriage in a key turn. I forgot to pop my FEAT. I forgot Scrapjack is a Arc Node. Man my brain was really dead. There were two different points where I had a chance of winning. I could’ve ran Scrapjack and cast Gallows setting up a backstrike charge for a couple assassins on his caster or I could’ve simply popped my FEAT which would have stopped his Stormwall from charging Old Witch and I would’ve Deathclocked him. 3 hours sleep…SHUT UP!

LOSS by assassination!!!

And so it begins…

In the end…Chris prevailed and won! YAY MY TEAM!!!

Check out Matt Wilson’s Battle Report…click here!

TOURNAMENT SUMMARY…

This was a really really fun tournament format and all 26 players that showed up seemed to have a great time. In between rounds there were General challenges like remembering every players name on their team, singing a made up song, & the losing team of a round having to rock Privateer Press hot pink bandanas. It was a long tournament clocking in around 8-9 hours including lunch but oh so worth it. There are talks about making this a annual thing and if that’s true I could only imagine the next one will be even bigger and better. I want to thank everyone at Mercenary Market, Chris, Matt, and all the players there for making this a really unique and awesome experience!

2 thoughts on “Battle Report 122-125 > 15-50pts. Escalation Steamroller Tournament…

Leave a Reply

