Khador Greylord Outriders…

As with most I’m not a fan of some of the original horses that came packed with the unit. There are a couple that are not anatomically correct and that bugged me.

I’ve been searching for alternate mounts and luckily a friend had some models he wanted to get rid of. Better yet I could actually try to dry fit them in person to see how the proportions were and what kind of modding I would have to do. It was as if fate wanted me to convert the unit since the models were perfect. There was very minimal modding and I just had to shave a little of the top fur off and that was it! I decided to also use some epoxy and make belts for the saddles and proceeded to use a mechanical lead pencil to create the studs/rivets on the belt. All in all I’m really happy with how they came out even though I could’ve done a little more work to make the saddles sit more flush on the wolves. I also experimented with making frosted hands because I thought that would look cool.

As far as the unit on the table goes, they are pretty awesome. It’s nice to have something so fast for Khador and I usually run them with any of the Vlads for the Signs & Portents or Hand of Fate upkeep spell on them. Sprays are delicious!

khador_greylord_outriders

Sing to the tune of Crossfire “Wolf riders! You’ll get frosted by the, Wolf Riders!”

  1. Army Painter Desert Yellow Primer on the riders & P3 White Primer on the wolves
  2. Base coat colors using Vallejo Game Colors & Vallejo Model Air Metallics
  3. Used Army Painter Dark Tone Ink all over the miniature using a big flat brush
  4. Minimal highlights (flesh, teeth, tongues, studs, rivets, etc.)
  5. Bases are comprised of Woodland Scenics grass & a Autumn Mix Leaf Scatter
  6. I varnish with Rust-oleum Painter’s Touch Gloss Coat (Non-Yellowing & UV Resistant) & then use Testor’s Dullcote to take away the gloss
  7. Finally I use Vallejo Gloss Varnish on the frosted hands and wolf tongues
4 thoughts on “Khador Greylord Outriders…

Leave a Reply

